fbpx

TOUR : LE BALKAN SE SOUVIENT

Le Blakan se souvient

Les crêtes de Stara Planina (la plus longue chaîne de montagnes de Bulgarie) gardent des secrets, des légendes, des contes et des histoires murmurés par les vents sur les plus hauts sommets...

  • L'une de ces histoires commémore l'acte héroïque des courageux combattants bulgares qui ont lutté pour la liberté de la Bulgarie lors d'une bataille épique (1877) contre la puissance de l'Empire ottoman. Il s'agissait d'un moment clé dans les efforts de la Bulgarie pour obtenir sa libération et son indépendance après une période de 500 ans de joug ottoman. 

Le patriarche de la littérature bulgare, Ivan Vazov, a immortalisé cet acte héroïque dans une ode.

 

“‘…till today the Balkan, when a storm rises,

remembers that day tumultuous, clamors and carries

its fame wild like an echo

from ravine to ravine, from age to age.”

Il n'y a pas de cœur bulgare qui ne palpite en entendant ou en lisant ce quatrin. Aucune âme bulgare ne pourrait rester indifférente au courage de ceux qui se sont battus - là-haut sur le sommet, ceux dont l'esprit y restera pour toujours. Aujourd'hui, on y trouve un énorme monument de marbre commémorant la bataille - le mémorial de Chipka.

 

Le mémorial de Chipka est l'un de nos endroits préférés. Nous aimons y emmener nos motards, non seulement pour partager ce patrimoine important, mais aussi pour profiter des vues merveilleuses qui s'offrent à nous lorsque nous nous y rendons à moto. Une expérience vraiment précieuse !

  • À Montréal, il y a le stade olympique, dans le Wisconsin (États-Unis), on peut voir une église orthodoxe grecque.

Actuellement, le monument ne peut être observé que de l'extérieur car il a été abandonné. Abandonné, mais pas du tout oublié ni sous-estimé. Le monument de Bouzloudja reçoit souvent une mention d'honneur dans la liste des plus beaux monuments abandonnés du monde. 

Le moyen le plus passionnant de s'y rendre ? Eh bien, si vous voulez notre avis - à moto, à travers des sentiers forestiers pittoresques !

 

Le monument de Bouzloudja

southern enduro tour

Le mémorial de Chipka

Scroll to top
fr_FRFrench

fbpx

The Balkan recalls tour

The Balkan Recalls tour

The ridges of Stara Planina (the longest mountain chain in Bulgaria) keep secrets, legends, tales and stories whispered by the winds on the highest peaks…

  • One of these stories commemorates the heroic deed of brave Bulgarian fighters battling the freedom of Bulgaria in an epic battle (1877) against the might of the Ottoman Empire. This was a key moment in Bulgaria’s effort to achieve liberation and independence after a period of 500 years of Ottoman yoke. 

The Patriarch of Bulgarian literature Ivan Vazov has immortalised the heroic deed in an ode

 

“‘…till today the Balkan, when a storm rises,

remembers that day tumultuous, clamors and carries

its fame wild like an echo

from ravine to ravine, from age to age.”

There is no Bulgarian heart that wouldn’t tremble upon hearing or reading this verse. No Bulgarian soul could remain impartial to the courage of those fighting – up there on the peak, those whose spirit would always linger on the summit. Today you can find there a huge marble monument commemorating the battle – The Shipka Monument.

 

The Shipka Monument is a personal favourite spot of ours. We love to take our riders there not only to share this key heritage spot but to also enjoy the marvelous views en route when getting there on a bike. A truly precious experience!

  • In Montreal they have their Olympic stadium, in Wisconsin (USA) you can see a Greek Orthodox Church.

  • Here, in Bulgaria we have the Buzludzha monument. What are the common elements of the three? The specific architecture, the engineering precision and the grandiose magnitude of the projects. 

Currently, the monument can only be observed from the outside as it has been abandoned. Abandoned but not forgotten or underappreciated at all. The Buzludzha monument often gets an honorary mention in The World’s Most Beautiful Deserted Monuments. 

The most exciting way to get there? Well, if you ask us – on a bike, through scenic forest paths!

 

Buzludzha Monument

southern enduro tour

Shipka Monument

Scroll to top